• English
  • Français

Confidentialité

Wolters Kluwer Limitée – POLITIQUE CANADIENNE EN MATIÈRE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Introduction

Wolters Kluwer Limitée (« Wolters Kluwer ») a pour pratique de protéger la confidentialité et la sécurité des dossiers de ses clients, de ses auteurs et de ses employés. Nous nous engageons à respecter nos obligations en vertu des lois canadiennes sur la protection des renseignements personnels, y compris la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et les lois provinciales applicables. Nous adhérons aux principes de protection des renseignements personnels exposés ci-dessous, qui régissent la façon dont nous recueillons, utilisons, entreposons et divulguons les renseignements personnels dans le cadre du développement, de la vente, de la promotion et de la distribution de nos produits, ou dans le cadre d’un emploi.

Aux fins de cette politique, les « renseignements personnels » désignent tout renseignement concernant une personne identifiable, y compris les dossiers du personnel, ainsi que les renseignements au sujet des clients et des auteurs, comme le nom et les coordonnées de ces derniers.

Politique concernant la protection des renseignements personnels

Nous recueillerons, utiliserons, entreposerons et divulguerons les renseignements personnels conformément aux principes suivants :

1. Responsabilité

La responsabilité générale d’assurer le respect des lois en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et de la présente politique incombe au vice-président – finances et opérations et directeur financier de Wolters Kluwer Limitée, qui agit à titre de responsable de la protection de la vie privée, et ce, bien que d’autres membres du personnel de Wolters Kluwer soient responsables de la collecte et du traitement de renseignements personnels au quotidien, et puissent être désignés afin d’agir au nom du responsable de la protection de la vie privée.

Nous sommes responsables des renseignements personnels qui sont en notre possession ou sous notre contrôle, y compris ceux transférés à des tiers à des fins de traitement. De plus, nous exigeons de nos fournisseurs de services qu’ils se soumettent à des exigences contractuelles conformes à nos politiques en matière de sécurité et de protection des renseignements personnels. Nous exigeons également que nos fournisseurs de services s’engagent à ne pas utiliser les renseignements personnels, sauf aux fins spécifiques pour lesquelles ces renseignements leur sont fournis.

2. Détermination des fins

Avant ou pendant la collecte de données, nous préciserons les fins auxquelles nous entendons utiliser les renseignements personnels. Selon la méthode employée pour la collecte des renseignements personnels, la détermination des fins pourra se faire oralement ou par écrit. Wolters Kluwer peut utiliser aux fins suivantes l’information recueillie :

  1. expédier des produits ou fournir des services à ses clients;
  2. fournir à ses clients un accès à des produits Web de Wolters Kluwer;
  3. répondre aux demandes de ses clients au sujet de leurs comptes et d’autres services;
  4. comprendre les besoins de ses clients actuels et de ses clients potentiels, et offrir des produits et services permettant de répondre à ces besoins;
  5. effectuer des vérifications de solvabilité à l’égard de clients actuels ou de clients potentiels; et
  6. remplir ses obligations sur le plan juridique.

À moins que la loi ne l’exige, nous n’utiliserons pas les renseignements personnels à d’autres fins sans avoir avisé la personne à laquelle ils se rapportent, et sans avoir obtenu son consentement.

3. Cookies

Les sites Web de Wolters Kluwer font appel à des « cookies ». Un cookie est un petit fichier de texte qui est enregistré sur votre appareil informatique lorsque vous visitez un site Web et qui conserve de l’information sur vos actions ou vos préférences.

Wolters Kluwer emploie des cookies pour comprendre la façon dont ses sites Web sont utilisés, améliorer l’expérience client et proposer un contenu sur mesure à ses clients.

Nous utilisons des cookies aux fins suivantes :

  • afin d’éviter à nos clients d’avoir à saisir de l’information de nouveau;
  • afin de permettre à nos clients d’accéder à leurs données;
  • afin de compiler des statistiques anonymes et globales en vue de l’amélioration de nos sites Web;
  • afin de nous permettre de reconnaître les clients et d’adapter le contenu affiché en fonction de leurs intérêts.
Wolters Kluwer utilise Google AdWords
  • Nous faisons appel au service Google AdWords pour effectuer de la publicité sur des sites Web de tierces parties (y compris Google) auprès de personnes ayant déjà visité nos sites Web, qu’ils aient ou non entré des renseignements dans une page Web de ces sites. Cette publicité peut prendre la forme d’une annonce sur la page de résultats de recherche de Google, ou sur un site du Google Display Network. Les fournisseurs tiers, y compris Google, peuvent utiliser des cookies pour diffuser des annonces en fonction des visites passées d’une personne sur le site Web de Wolters Kluwer Canada. Évidemment, toute donnée recueillie sera utilisée conformément à notre propre politique de protection des renseignements personnels et à celle de Google.
  • Vous pouvez définir des préférences afin de contrôler la façon dont Google vous diffuse des annonces à partir de la page « Paramètres des annonces Google », et, si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez désactiver la diffusion d’annonces ciblées par centres d’intérêt en modifiant vos paramètres relatifs aux cookies ou, pour des résultats permanents, en utilisant un module d’extension pour votre navigateur Web.

4. Consentement

Les renseignements personnels seront uniquement recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués avec le consentement de la personne concernée, sauf dans certaines circonstances où la collecte, l’utilisation ou la divulgation de ces renseignements est permise ou exigée par la loi. La façon dont nous procédons pour obtenir ce consentement peut varier selon le degré de sensibilité des renseignements. Nous obtiendrons un consentement dans tous les cas où les renseignements personnels visés sont considérés comme sensibles, comme les renseignements relatifs au revenu ou à l’état de santé.

Généralement, nous vous demanderons votre consentement pour l’utilisation ou la divulgation de renseignements personnels au moment de la collecte des renseignements. Toutefois, un nouveau consentement vous sera également demandé après la collecte si nous souhaitons utiliser les renseignements à de nouvelles fins.

Dans les situations où il est impossible ou difficile d’obtenir un consentement, nous agirons conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et aux lois provinciales en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, qui prévoient des exceptions pour ces situations.

5. Limitation de la collecte

Nous recueillerons les renseignements personnels par des moyens justes et licites, et limiterons la quantité et le type de renseignements personnels recueillis selon les fins visées.

6. Limitation de l’usage, de la divulgation et de la conservation

Nous n’utiliserons ni ne divulguerons les renseignements personnels à des fins autres que celles pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis, sauf avec le consentement de la personne concernée et sauf lorsque requis par la loi. Wolters Kluwer ne vend ni n’échange aucune liste de clients à des entreprises ou organisation tierces. Wolters Kluwer peut toutefois fournir une liste de clients à un tiers à des fins de recherche et développement. Sous réserve de toute exigence commerciale, légale ou réglementaire applicable, nous nous assurerons dans cette situation que les données sont détruites de façon sécuritaire, effacées ou rendues anonymes.

7. Partage d’information avec des sociétés affiliées

Wolters Kluwer peut fournir des renseignements personnels à des sociétés affiliées. Nos sociétés affiliées sont les sociétés membres du groupe Wolters Kluwer nv, qui inclut CCH Incorporated, Aspen Publishers Inc., CCH – Legal Information Services et Bankers System Inc. La liste complète de nos sociétés affiliées peut être consultée sur le site Web de Wolters Kluwer au www.wolterskluwer.com

8. Exactitude

Nous ferons tous les efforts possibles pour nous assurer que les renseignements personnels utilisés de façon continue et l’information utilisée pour prendre une décision à l’égard d’une personne sont suffisamment exacts, complets et à jour pour les fins auxquels ils doivent être utilisés.

9. Mesures de protection

Nous protégerons les renseignements personnels à l’aide de mesures de protection appropriées en fonction du degré de sensibilité de l’information. Les mesures de protection que nous appliquons permettent d’éviter la perte ou le vol des renseignements, ainsi que l’accès, la divulgation, la copie, l’utilisation ou la modification non autorisés, peu importe le format dans lequel l’information est conservée. Nous ferons preuve de circonspection pour l’élimination ou la destruction de renseignements personnels, afin d’empêcher toute partie non autorisée d’accéder aux renseignements. Les méthodes de protection que nous utilisons incluent des mesures physiques (p. ex., le verrouillage des fichiers stockés et le contrôle de l’accès à nos bureaux), des mesures organisationnelles (p. ex., des cotes de sécurité et la restriction de l’accès aux personnes concernées uniquement) et des mesures technologiques (p. ex., l’utilisation de mots de passe et le chiffrement). Nous exigeons que nos fournisseurs de services externes offrent un niveau de protection comparable pour les renseignements personnels que nous leur fournissons.

10. Transfert de renseignements à l’extérieur du Canada

Wolters Kluwer, ses sociétés affiliées et les tiers partenaires auxquels nous divulguons des renseignements en vertu de cette politique peuvent exercer certaines activités hors Canada. Par conséquent, il est possible que vos renseignements personnels soient recueillis, utilisés, entreposés et traités dans d’autres pays. Ils seront alors assujettis aux lois de ces pays et pourront être divulgués en réponse à des demandes valides ou à des requêtes des autorités gouvernementales, des tribunaux ou des autorités policières. En nous fournissant vos renseignements personnels, vous consentez à ce qu’ils soient potentiellement transférés à l’extérieur du Canada.

11. Règlement général sur la protection des données

Afin de protéger les données personnelles des individus et des clients au sein de l’Union européenne et pour suivre le rythme des technologies en constante évolution, le Règlement général sur la protection des données (RGPD) entre en vigueur à compter du 25 mai 2018. Le RGPD a une incidence sur le fonctionnement de toutes les entreprises qui stockent ou traitent les données personnelles d’individus au sein de l’Union européenne. Le RGPD vise à renforcer les droits des individus à l’égard de leurs données personnelles et crée une norme harmonisée relative à la protection des données personnelles.
En tant que partenaires de confiance des professionnels, nous tenons à ce que nos clients soient assurés que leurs données personnelles sont protégées. En accord avec les valeurs et les principes professionnels de Wolters Kluwer, la confidentialité des données est au cœur de notre approche concernant le RGPD. Nous comprenons tout à fait l’importance des normes en matière de confidentialité des données pour nos clients et nous reconnaissons que des obligations doivent être respectées lors de la gestion, du stockage et du traitement des données personnelles. Chez Wolters Kluwer, nous sommes engagés à protéger les données personnelles de nos clients. Nous respectons cet engagement en assurant la sécurité des renseignements et en respectant les droits des personnes.
Avec le Wolters Kluwer Corporate Privacy Office, nous sommes entièrement engagés à mettre en place un programme interfonctionnel intégrant le RGPD. Nous révisons nos règles relatives au traitement des données (politiques, normes et documentation) et nos pratiques à travers l’entreprise, et nous apportons des changements pour améliorer davantage la protection des données personnelles. Nous offrons des formations à nos employés concernant leurs responsabilités et les nouvelles façons de travailler pour respecter le RGPD et nous travaillons conjointement avec les tiers et les vendeurs pour nous assurer qu’ils se conforment à cette réglementation. Enfin, nous évaluons les contrats des clients et nous travaillons avec ces derniers pour les appuyer.

Accès individuel

Sur demande écrite, nous informerons une personne à l’égard de laquelle nous possédons des renseignements personnels de l’existence, de l’utilisation et de la divulgation de ses renseignements. Nous nous réservons le droit de refuser l’accès à ces renseignements pour des raisons permises par la loi, comme les situations où donner accès aux renseignements impliquerait des coûts prohibitifs, la présence de références à d’autres personnes, ou lorsque les renseignements ne peuvent pas être divulgués pour des raisons juridiques, commerciales ou de sécurité. Si nous refusons l’accès à certains renseignements, nous aviserons la personne concernée des motifs de cette décision.

Lorsque l’inexactitude ou le caractère incomplet de renseignements personnels que nous détenons est établi par la personne concernée, nous corrigerons ou mettrons à jour l’information, selon les besoins.

Changements

Wolters Kluwer se réserve le droit de modifier cette politique, et vous acceptez d’être lié par tout changement. Il vous appartient donc de relire cette politique de façon périodique pour vérifier les modalités en vigueur. Cette politique a été mise à jour pour la dernière fois en avril 2014.

Demandes et plaintes

Nous enquêterons sur toutes les plaintes écrites et répondrons à toutes les demandes écrites. Si nous jugeons qu’une plainte est justifiée, nous prendrons les mesures appropriées pour corriger le problème.

Pour produire une demande d’exclusion, demander accès à vos renseignements personnels, rapporter des renseignements inexacts ou déposer une plainte, veuillez écrire à :

Vice-président – Finances et opérations et Directeur financier
Wolters Kluwer Limitée
90, av. Sheppard East, bureau 300
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6X1

Télécopieur : (416) 224-1067

Nous joindre

• English
  • Français

Privacy Policy

Wolters Kluwer Limited – CANADIAN PRIVACY POLICY

Introduction

Wolters Kluwer Limited (“Wolters Kluwer”) has a practice of protecting the privacy and security of customer, author and employee records. We are committed to meeting our obligations under Canadian data privacy laws, including the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and applicable provincial laws. We adhere to the privacy principles set out below that govern the way we collect, use, store and disclose personal information, which is obtained in the course of development, sales, promotion and distribution of our products or in the course of employment.

“Personal Information” as used in this policy means any information about an identifiable person including employee records and customer and author information, such as name and contact information.

Policy for the Protection of Personal Information

We will collect, use, store and disclose Personal Information in accordance with the following privacy principles:

1. Accountability

The overall responsibility for ensuring our compliance with data privacy laws and this privacy policy rests with the Vice President, Finance & Operations and CFO, who is our Privacy Officer, although other individuals within Wolters Kluwer have responsibility for the day-to-day collection and processing of Personal Information and may be delegated to act on behalf of the Privacy Officer.

We are responsible for Personal Information in our possession or custody, including Personal Information that we may transfer to third parties for processing. We will require our service providers to agree to contractual requirements that are consistent with our privacy and security policies. We will require that our service providers are prohibited from using Personal Information except for the specific purpose for which we supply it to them.

2. Identifying Purposes

Either before or at the time of collection, we will identify the purposes for which we plan to use the Personal Information. Depending upon the way in which the Personal Information is collected, this can be done orally or in writing. Wolters Kluwer may use the information we collect for the following purposes:

  1. To ship products or provide services to our customers
  2. To provide customers access to Wolters Kluwer Internet products
  3. To respond to customer inquiries about accounts and other services
  4. To understand our customers, and prospective customers’ needs and to offer products and services to meet those needs
  5. To conduct credit checks on customers or prospective customers
  6. To meet legal requirements

Unless required by law, we will not use Personal Information for a new purpose without the knowledge and consent of the individual to whom the information relates.

3. Cookies

Wolters Kluwer websites use “cookies.” A cookie is a small text file that’s stored on your computing device when you visit a website that retains information about your actions or preferences.

Wolters Kluwer uses cookies to understand how our websites are being used as well as to improve our customer experience and tailor content for our customers.

We use cookies for the following specific purposes:

  • To save our customers from having to re-enter information
  • To allow our customers to access their stored information
  • To compile anonymous and aggregated statistics to help us improve the structure of our websites
  • To help us recognize customers and allow us to tailor content to match their preferred interests

Wolters Kluwer uses Google AdWords

  • Our websites use the Google AdWords remarketing service to advertise on third-party websites (including Google) to previous visitors of our site, regardless of whether or not they have entered information into a web page. This could be in the form of an advertisement on the Google search results page, or a site in the Google Display Network. Third-party vendors, including Google, may use cookies to serve ads based on someone’s past visits to the Wolters Kluwer Canada website. Of course, any data collected will be used in accordance with our own privacy policy and Google’s privacy policy.
  • You may set preferences to control how Google advertises to you using the Google Ad Preferences page, and if you wish, you may opt out of interest-based advertising entirely by cookie settings or permanently using a browser plugin.

4. Consent

Personal Information will only be collected, used or disclosed with the consent of the individual, except in certain circumstances permitted or required by law. The way in which we seek consent may vary depending upon the sensitivity of the information. We will obtain consent in all cases where the Personal Information involved is considered sensitive, such as income or health information.

Typically, we will seek consent for the use or disclosure of Personal Information at the time of collection. However, additional consent will be sought after the Personal Information has been collected if it is required for a new purpose.

In certain circumstances, obtaining consent would be inappropriate. The federal Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and provincial privacy laws provide for exceptions where it is impossible or impractical to obtain consent.

5. Limiting Collection

We will collect Personal Information by fair and lawful means and will limit the amount and type of Personal Information we collect to that which is necessary for our identified purposes.

6. Limiting Use, Disclosure and Retention

We will not use or disclose Personal Information for purposes other than those for which it was collected, except with the consent of the individual or as required by law. Wolters Kluwer does not sell and/or trade customer lists to selected third-party companies and organizations. Wolters Kluwer may provide a customer list to a third party for the purposes of research and development. Subject to any applicable business, legal or regulatory requirements, we will ensure that the data is destroyed in a secure manner, erased or made anonymous.

7. Affiliates With Whom We Share Information

Wolters Kluwer may provide personal information to affiliates. Our affiliates are the family of companies that form Wolters Kluwer nv, including CCH Incorporated, Aspen Publishers Inc., CCH – Legal Information Services and Bankers System Inc. A complete list of our affiliates is available on the Wolters Kluwer website at www.wolterskluwer.com.

8. Accuracy

We will use our best efforts to ensure that Personal Information that is used on an ongoing basis and information that is used to make a decision about an individual is as accurate, complete and up to date as necessary for the purpose for which it is to be used.

9. Safeguards

We will protect Personal Information with safeguards appropriate to the level of sensitivity of the information. Our safeguards protect Personal Information against loss or theft, as well as unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification, regardless of the format in which the information is held. We will exercise care in the disposal or destruction of Personal Information to prevent unauthorized parties from gaining access to the information. Our methods of protection include physical measures (for example, locked file storage and restricted access to offices), organizational measures (for example, security clearances and limiting access on a need-to-know basis) and technological measures (for example, the use of passwords and encryption). We also require our outside service providers to provide a comparable level of protection to Personal Information that we may supply to them.

10. Transfer of Information Outside of Canada

Wolters Kluwer, our affiliates and our third-party partners to whom we disclose information under this policy may perform certain activities outside of Canada. As a result, your personal information may be collected, used, stored and processed in other countries. Your information will be subject to the laws of those countries and may be disclosed in response to valid demands or requests from government authorities, courts or law enforcement. By providing us with your personal information, you consent to the potential transfer of your information outside of Canada.

11. The General Data Protection Regulation

To protect the personal data of individuals and customers in the European Union and to keep up with everchanging technology, as per the May 25, 2018 the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) will come into effect. The GDPR impacts every organization which stores or processes personal data of individuals across the European Union. The GDPR aims to strengthen the rights of individuals over their personal data and creates a harmonized personal data protection standard.

As a trusted partner to professionals, we want our customers to be confident that their personal data is protected. Consistent with the Wolters Kluwer company values and business principles, data privacy is at the heart of our approach to the GDPR. We fully understand the importance of data privacy standards to our customers and we recognize the obligations that apply to managing, storing and processing personal data. At Wolters Kluwer, we are committed to protecting our customers’ personal data. We deliver on this promise by striving to keep information secure and respecting the rights of individuals.

With the Wolters Kluwer Corporate Privacy Office, we are fully engaged in a cross-functional GDPR program. We are reviewing data processes (policies, standards and documentation) and practices throughout our company and are implementing changes to further enhance protection of personal data. We are training our employees on their responsibilities and new ways of working related to GDPR; we are partnering with third parties and vendors to ensure their compliance; and we are assessing customer contracts and working with our customers to help to support them.

Individual Access

Upon written request, we will inform an individual of the existence, use and disclosure of his or her Personal Information and give him or her reasonable access to that information. We may deny access for legally permissible reasons such as situations where the information is prohibitively costly to provide, if it contains references to other individuals, or where it cannot be disclosed for legal, security or commercial proprietary reasons. We will advise the individual of any reason for denying an access request.

When an individual successfully demonstrates the inaccuracy or incompleteness of Personal Information held by us, we will correct or update the information as required.

Changes

Wolters Kluwer may revise this policy. You agree to be bound by any such revisions and should therefore periodically visit this policy to determine the current terms to which you are bound.

Filing Inquiries and Complaints

We will investigate all written complaints and respond to all written inquiries. If we find a complaint to be justified, we will take appropriate measures to resolve it.

To file an opt-out request, request access to your information, report incorrect information, file a complaint, please write to:

The Privacy Officer
Wolters Kluwer Limited
300 – 90 Sheppard Avenue East
Toronto ON M2N 6X1

Fax: (416) 224-1067

Contact Us

 

This policy was last updated on May 25th 2018.